Posted in 2018, Book Tours, News, reviews

BT – The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas.

How amazing is a Friday though? You know what’s even more amazing? Kate Mascarenhas incredible book ThePsychology of Time Travel. Do you know what’s even better than that? An extract of the book! I know, I know, I spoil you.

Let’s get started…

⚜️Blurb: A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven.

1967.

Four female scientists invent a time travel machine. They are on the cusp of fame: the pioneers who opened the world to new possibilities. But then one of them suffers a breakdown and puts the whole project in peril…

2017.

Ruby knows her beloved Granny Bee was a pioneer, but they never talk about the past. Though time travel is now big business, Bee has never been part of it. Then they receive a message from the future – a newspaper clipping reporting the mysterious death of an elderly lady…

2018.

When Odette discovered the body she went into shock. Blood everywhere, bullet wounds, that strong reek of sulphur. But when the inquest fails to find any answers, she is frustrated. Who is this dead woman that haunts her dreams? And why is everyone determined to cover up her murder?

⚜️My Thoughts: Right am not usually a Sci-Fi/Time Travelling type of gal at all but something about this book really intrigued me. Man am I seriously glad I chose this book to be the opening of something actually quite wonderful.

To live in a world where time travel is the norm is a fantastic concept. One I would be very much be interested in living if we could actually live in Kate Mascarenhas world.

The Psychology of Time Travel am not going to lie is complex book to read, however, once you’re actually in and have made connections with each character and where they are and at what times etc., it then becomes absolutely fascinating. A fresh, original and alternative premise with a truly beautiful underlining and up-to-date story focusing on mental health.

To read from an all female cast perspective from many era’s really gives you insight into how time changes reality now. It’s a clever, thought provoking, inspiring, wonderful book and one I could not recommend to you any more.

I’m sorry for the shite review people, but it’s a hard one to have to write about without giving anything at all away.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

5/5

⚜️Links to buy:

Amazon

iBooks

Kobo

Google Play

WHSmith

Waterstones

Book Depository

⚜️About Author: Kate Mascarenhas.

Kate Mascarenhas is a writer.

Born in 1980, she is of mixed heritage (white Irish father, brown British mother) and has family in Ireland and the Republic of Seychelles.

She studied English at Oxford and Applied Psychology at Derby. Her PhD, in literary studies and psychology, was completed at Worcester.

Since 2017 Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Previously she has been an advertising copywriter, bookbinder, and doll’s house maker. She lives in the English midlands with her partner.

To find out more about Kate and her work you can do that by using the links provided below.

Website

Twitter

Goodreads

⚜️Book Details:

Title: The Psychology of Time Travel.

Author: Kate Mascarenhas.

Genre: Crime & Thriller/Mystery/Sci-Fi.

Length: 320 pages.

ISBN-10: 1788540123

ISBN-13: 978-1788540124

ASIN: B077T7MNQJ

Publisher: Head of Zeus.

Publication Date:

Ebook and Hardback – August 9th 2018.

Paperback – March 7th 2019.

So that’s me done, I’m out. Thank you so much stopping by and I really do hope you’ll go grab yourself a copy of this book. It is totally worth it. Also, buy alcohol to go with it. It is Friday after all.

Bottoms up 🍷🥂🍹🍸🥃🍻

Huge thanks as always to Kate herself for having a wonderful imagination; and to the fabulous Florence over at HOZ for letting me a part of something special and inviting me into the tour.

N 😘

Author:

Hiya, Welcome to my blog. I will only be using this blog to upload my reviews on to link it over to my actual website www.TheBookGeekWearsPajamas.co.uk. If you would like to get in touch please do so through that or come join me on twitter @PajamaBookGirl. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s